Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski has been named FIFA footballer of the year 2020. He defeated Lionel Messi from Barcelona and Cristiano Ronaldo from Juventus Turin.

– The goal of the year! Son, Suarez, WSL stars at the FIFA Puskas
Awards – ESPN 100 Football Club : Liverpool, dominant city

Lewandowski, 32, joins Luka Modric (2018) as the only player other than Lionel Messi (6) and Cristiano Ronaldo (5) to have won the FIFA Male Footballer of the Year award since 2008.

He also led Poland to qualify for Euro 2020 and was named 2019-20 man footballer of the year by UEFA in October.

Receiving such a prize and sharing the title with Messi and Ronaldo [previous winners] is incredible and means a lot to me, said Lewandowski. I’m very proud and happy. This is a great day for me, but also for my club and my colleagues.

This award also belongs to my colleagues, the coach and to the whole of FC Bayern. It’s an incredible feeling, a lot of emotion.

Manchester City and England defender Lucy Bronze was named FIFA Women’s Footballer of the Year. She is the first player, male or female, from England to be honoured by FIFA.

I don’t have the words to explain what I’m feeling right now, Mr. Bronze. If 2020 has taught us one thing, it is to cherish every moment, not to look too far into the future and to live in the here and now.

I like him more than ever. I will remember this moment forever, for the rest of my life.

Manuel Neuer of Bayern Munich received the Best Goalkeeper Award – he became the first German goalkeeper to win the award – while Son Heung-min was honoured by Puskas for the best goal he scored in Tottenham’s 5-0 victory over Burnley at 7. December 2019 with a brilliant last push.

Fault! The file name is not specified. Game


Casey Keller of ESPN FC compares the Alisson of Liverpool with the best goalkeeper in men’s football of FIFA, Manuel Neuer.

Liverpool coach Jürgen Klopp was declared coach of the year for the second time. He won it again in 2019, and became the first person to win the prize twice. Dutch manager Sarina Wigman won the Coach of the Year award and was for the second time together with Jill Ellis (two) and Sylvia Neid (three) the only multiple winner.

The FIFA awards are a repetition of the FIFA Player of the Year award, which was presented at the same time as the Ballon d’Or from 1991 to 2009. The two prizes were then combined to form the FIFA Ballon d’Or between 2010 and 2015, to be renamed FIFA Best in 2016.

The winners, voted on by the chosen media, national team leaders, coaches and fans, were announced during a virtual ceremony on Thursday.

Lewandowski, whose 55 goals helped Bayern win the 2019-20 Treble, said he was disappointed that the Ballon d’Or was suppressed because of KOVID-19. But he has added his first FIFA Best Player Award – Ronaldo, who won it twice, and Messi, who won it in 2019.

Ronaldo scored 31 goals in Serie A last season, with Juventus winning the title, while Messi scored 25 goals in La Liga. Lewandowski scored 34 Bundesliga points to take second place in the European Golden Shoe classification.

Despite missing the grand prize, Ronaldo and Messi were named alongside Lewandowski in the 11th FIFA FIFPro World Cup. Bayern Munich and the Canadian international Alfonso Davies were also part of the team and became the first player from his country to be included in the group selection.

The American woman batter Megan Rapinoe has been selected for the 11th FIFA FIFPro Women’s World Cup, alongside bronze medallists Tobin Heath and Wendy Renard.

After the announcement, Rapinoe tweeted a statement that she was honored, but felt she didn’t deserve to be part of the team after not playing a game since March.

FIFPro XI Gentlemen World Team

Alisson Becker (Liverpool and Brazil), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool and England), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and the Netherlands), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid and Spain), Alfonso Davies (Bayern Munich and Canada), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich and Germany), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium), Thiago Alcantara (Liverpool and Spain), Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal).

FIFPro World XI Women’s Team

Christian Endler (PSG and Chile), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City and England), Wendy Renard (Lyon and France), Millie Bright (Chelsea and England), Delphine Cascarino (Lyon and France), Barbara Bonanci (Juventus and Italy), Veronica Boquete (AC Milan and Spain), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign and USA), Pernille Harder (Chelsea and Denmark), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal and the Netherlands), Tobin Heath (Manchester United and USA).

This story uses information from Reuters.

You May Also Like

Why Cleveland Indians’ name change is a half-century overdue

11:00 A.M. ET Jeff Passanpen Shut up. ESPN MLB Insiders Author of…

Everything We Know So Far About The Much Hyped Anime!

The anime series known as “Bakemonogatari” is getting a lot of buzz…

How the Washington Capitals weathered an early COVID-19 storm and are poised to be top Stanley Cup contenders

It was inevitable that COWID-19 would have an impact on the 2021…

2020 NFL season in review

10. January 2021 NFL Nation The 2020 NFL playoff wildcard round ended…